THE UNIVERSITY OF NEBRASKA

The University's Heritage

Founded in 1869, the University of Nebraska is one of the major institutions of public higher education in mid-America. On its Kearney, Lincoln, Omaha, and Scottsbluff campuses, it serves approximately 50,000 students.

The University's classes began September 7, 1871, in the original building, University Hall, which was located on the edge of the then new Nebraska capital village of Lincoln. Despite deep economic difficulties and disputes over policy, the University survived its early years and by 1886 had inaugurated the first program in graduate education west of the Mississippi.

The Present Organization

The University of Nebraska is composed of four major administrative units: The University of Nebraska (https://www.unl.edu/)# (https://www.unl.edu/)Lincoln (UNL (https://www.unl.edu/)), the University of Nebraska at Kearney (UNK) (https://www.unk.edu/), the University of Nebraska at Omaha (UNO (https://www.unomaha.edu/)), and the University of Nebraska Medical Center (UNMC (https://www.unmc.edu/)). Each of the major administrative units is led by a chancellor who reports to the University President. Each is ultimately governed by a 12-member Board of Regents which insures that the University meets its goal of quality instruction, research, and public service for the citizens of the state.