Print Options

The Board of Regents

Timothy Clare, District 1
Howard Hawks, District 2
Jim Pillen, District 3
Bob Whitehouse, District 4
Robert Schafer, District 5
Paul Kenney, District 6
Bob Phares, District 7, Chairman
Hal Daub, District 8
Austin Partridge, UNK
Joe Zach, UNL
Carissa Lueck, UNMC
Carlo Eby, UNO

University-Wide Administration

Hank M. Bounds, PH.D., President
Susan Fritz, Executive Vice President and Provost
David E. Lechner, B.S.B.A., Vice-President for Business and Finance
Joel D. Pedersen, J.D., Vice President and General Counsel
Ronnie Green, PH.D., Vice President and Vice Chancellor of Agriculture and Natural Resources

University of Nebraska Medical Center Administration

Jeffrey N. Gold, M.D., Chancellor
Jennifer Larsen, M.D., Ph.D., Vice Chancellor for Research
Don Leuenberger, Interim Vice Chancellor for Business and Finance
Robert D. Bartee, M.A., Vice Chancellor for External Affairs
H. Dele Davies, M.D., Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Dean, Graduate Studies
Janet Guthmiller, D.D.S., Ph.D., Dean, College of Dentistry
Bradley Britigan, M.D., Dean, College of Medicine
Juliann Sebastian, PH.D., R.N., Dean, College of Nursing
Courtney V. Fletcher, Pharm.D., Dean, College of Pharmacy
Ali Khan, M.D., M.P.H., Dean, College of Public Health
Kyle Meyer, PH.D., Senior Associate Dean, College of Allied Health Professions
Karoly Mirnics, M.D., Ph.D., Director, Munroe-Meyer Institute
Kenneth H. Cowan, M.D., Ph.D., Director, Eppley Institute for Research in Cancer

The University of Nebraska

Founded in 1869, the University of Nebraska is one of the major institutions of public higher education in mid-America. On its Lincoln and Omaha campuses, it serves approximately 40,000 students. The University’s classes began September 7, 1871, in the original building, University Hall, which was located on the edge of the then new Nebraska capital village of Lincoln. Despite deep economic difficulties and disputes over policy, the University survived its early years and by 1886 had inaugurated the first program in graduate education west of the Mississippi. In 1908 it received membership in the prestigious Association of American Universities, evidence of the high quality of its efforts in teaching and research.

Today, the University of Nebraska is composed of four major subdivisions: the University of Nebraska– Lincoln (UNL), the University of Nebraska at Omaha (UNO), the University of Nebraska at Kearney (UNK), and the University of Nebraska Medical Center (UNMC). Each of the four major subdivisions is led by a Chancellor who reports to a University-wide President who is ultimately responsible to the Board of Regents, which consists of eight representatives elected from designated regions of the state and four non-voting student regents.

The University of Nebraska Medical Center

The University of Nebraska Medical Center, located on more than 85 acres in central Omaha, is the hub of a complex and diversified medical community. The Center is composed of the Colleges of Medicine including the College of Allied Health Professions, Nursing, Pharmacy, Public Health, Graduate Studies, Nebraska Medicine, the Eppley Institute for Research in Cancer, the Monroe-Meyer Rehabilitation Institute, the Durham Outpatient Center, the Lied Transplant Center, and the Durham Research Centers. The College of Dentistry is administratively within the Medical Center even though the building is on the East Campus of the University of Nebraska–Lincoln.